Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MakoMike

Thinking of moving my boat to NJ

Rate this topic

55 posts in this topic

I've been out in skiffs in BL many times. During the summer the weekend boat traffic is incredible. I don't know if the fluking sucks in the rest of the bay or what but between everyone fishing and blowing through the channels it's a keep your head on a swivel kind of place. The inlet is also on the rougher side. Decent fishing out there. Never really have a greenhead problem while fishing, run into that more in Great Bay.

Posted (edited) · Report post

I have been running Barnegat Inlet for close to 50 years.  Inlet is actually much better than it was before they fixed the south Jetty back in the 90's.  You do have to watch the inlet, if their is a flood tide and it is running out with a swell hitting he beach, it can get pretty nasty.  First time out you need to watch that North Jetty.  The last 100 yards is submerged so make sure you clear the stanchion before trying to enter or exit the inlet.  You will see the majority of the boats as long as they are not going to head south, turn North exiting the inlet as soon as they clear the stanchion.  They do this to avoid the outer bar in the channel which actually extends well past the jetty's.

You can find a slip on the west side of the bay, somewhere from Forked River to Waretown.  Waretown gives you more of a direct access to the inlet.  You should be able to make the inlet in about 15 minutes from Waretown.  Forked River is further North up the Bay so adds about 15 minutes to the run, depending on where you are docked.

The other option is a slip in Barnegat Light, but then you have to fight the summer traffic on the Island to get to the boat.

The bay actually holds plenty of Fluke.  You just need to learn the bay.  

Plenty of Crabs, and Blow Fishing has been good the past several years.  Kingfish have also made a pretty good showing in the bays over the last few years.