Delaware sheephead and flounder

Rate this topic

fishguts430

My wife's family members bought a place in Bethany beach right on a canal leading to the Indian river bay. I really want to try to target flounder and get my first sheephead this year. do the sheephead come into the Indian river bay at all? I was going to try to find some rock piles or something and jig for them. I was also told by a local bait shop that the flounder fishing is not good in Delaware. He said to head north to jersey or south to Maryland. Any body have any info on this as well? It would suck to have to travel to a different state when i could launch the kayak in 30 seconds walking out the back door lol. I'm also new to both types of fishing so go easy on me 

Might find some useful info here. You are in a good area for fishing. No reason to go searching for them somewhere else. Indian River Inlet produces a lot of fish and the Delaware State Seashore Park in Bethany is a good spot for surf fishing.

Edited by TimS
Please don't post links to other discussion websites, thanks. Please see the Guidelines if you are uncertain of what we allow here.

4 hours ago, DerrickT said:

There are flounder around.  You just gotta know where to find them.  Catch ratio to find a keeper may be 100 to 1 though or maybe more.  

Some places night time is the right time ;)

You mean fluke, right? Not the little rubber mouthed fellers we catch up here? 

Show someone how to catch striped bass and they'll be ready to fish anywhere.
Show someone where to go striped bass fishing and you'll have a desperate report chaser with loose lips.

7 hours ago, DerrickT said:

There are flounder around.  You just gotta know where to find them.  Catch ratio to find a keeper may be 100 to 1 though or maybe more.  

Some places night time is the right time ;)

Are you referring to local water and/or DBay and ocean?

Pretty bad when tackle shop tells you to go to another state.

14 hours ago, TimS said: