adoboboy

Anyone use the PBX II X2GSU110M-2 or X2GSU100M-2 blanks?

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

Hello,

I was hoping to get some info regarding these blanks. I was looking for a blank to build so I can pair it with a 1st Gen Torque 5. I sold most of my "heavier" rods and all I have left is a 9'6 Shimano Tiralejo rated up to 3oz that could barely cast 2.5 ounces. I recently built a 9'6 suzuki for a VR50 so was hoping for something that can throw heavier lures and Bucktails up to 3 ounces. If it can throw SP's comfortably too, that would be even better.  I am new to Rod Building so please bear with me. I had my eye on the Lami XRA 1322 on clearance, but the fact that the tip is a size 10 and a couple ounces heavier, I dunno, I wanted to use smaller runners for a relatively lighter build. I am also interested in the 10 to 11 foot Surf Blanks by Rd Geeks, so please let me know if those would be better than these PBX blanks. Thanks in advance!

It's the same as the American Tackle Surf Series. That being said I built and fish a 110M-2. Rated 1-4oz.  I have cast everything from unweighted 9" sluggos to Joe Bags Patriot with 3oz leadheads or Gags whip it fish. It excels at chucking and fishing Guppy 2 3/4oz. You can really power the rod with a guppy. Did also fish a big Tsunami floating talking popper of the beach. Worked it well.  Guides  used were AMTACK "K" guides. 2 or 3 double foot then singles. Will check when I get home tonight. It's an OK all around rod. Ive used it on the beach and canal. Can't say how it will handle a big fish as we all know those were far and few between.  I did catch plenty

sub legal fish and  didn't feel under gunned throwing the Joe Bags/Al gags in the current at the canal. Reel was a cheap Cabelas Long cast surf reel with 40lb PP. Will upgrade to a 8000 size shimano this year.

Oh I did toss big Deadly Dicks into a strong wind in Welfleet also. Chucked them pretty good.

Adoboboy