aae0130

How much is enough?

Rate this topic

40 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

Im a beginner. Just purchased my first pistol. (9mm).          
Ammo is available at the local range I will be shooting at so that’s covered. 

I have two boxes of 50 rounds each that I bought online for home. I have two more coming tomorrow. My plan is to build up

about 500 rounds but I can only buy two boxes at a time from where I get my supply.

My big question is how much ammo should I keep on hand......reasonably. What is the norm if any norm does exist?

I would think 500 rounds as a stash would be reasonable but then I watch an episode of the Walking Dead and think that I need more. It’s not that I expect the zombie apocalypse to actually happen, but you never know. I live in a small urban NJ town but I am surrounded by filthy cities. My county is pretty high on the crime charts, though my town itself is pretty safe. 

There is also plenty of chatter about the incoming administration leading Internet personalities to say that we should be buying everything gun related that we can now. 

I understand that buying up everything in a rush will further the shortage problem but who wants to be the guy that was too late?

So how much should I have and why? 

Edited by aae0130

In these times as much as you can afford as long as it’s a reasonable price. 
Ive got about 10k rounds in my safe of 5  calibers and I wish I bought more when it was more normally priced.  Especially .223 and 10 mm

11 mins ago, ridenfish said:

In these times as much as you can afford as long as it’s a reasonable price. 
Ive got about 10k rounds in my safe of 5  calibers and I wish I bought more when it was more normally priced.  Especially .223 and 10 mm

Sounds like an investment style of strategy. Buy it because it will cost more later. This makes sense to me because the ammo is basically a disposable item.