EdwardJ23

Surf cast rod length

Rate this topic

47 posts in this topic

I am new to surf casting, and I understand that generally longer rods generate more distance.  I see people like John skinner using 8’ or under 10’ rods.  I assume these rods give good distance.  Could someone explain rod length in considering optimal use?

thanks.

Posted (edited) · Report post

Just because John Skinner likes a certain product, doesn’t mean that it will work for you. Don’t force yourself to use something because someone on YouTube uses it. And if you watch, he uses like 50 rods ranging from 6’6 to 11’.

If you’re fishing light surf or a bay, 9’ is all you need.

If you’re fishing heavier surf and bigger waves, look in to a 10-11 footer.

To me personally, 8 footers are useless from the surf. It’s that awkward length that it might as well be built like an inshore rod.

If distance is a concern, then use a reel that matches whatever rod and 30 or 40lb braid.

Edited by ASrod

Good question, but the answer can't be short.

As a matter of physics, the longer the lever, the greater the result. As a more immediate matter, longer rod=greater distance only matters in specialized casting, with tackle that isn't always good for fishing, and in the hands of muscular anglers who spend a lot of time on practice fields. The long range casts we all admore are achieved with rods of 12' and longer. They set records with sinkers, and little else. Adding even a small bait increases aerodynamic drag and cuts distance sharply.