codfish

Best all around jig hook?

Rate this topic

70 posts in this topic

I'm just getting into casting jigs. I went with Mustad 32786. I have that hook on alot of jigs and really like it.  Penetration is really nice. I've found that I can drop a bare hook onto my skin and it'll draw blood. 

Plus I like the ones Scooby posted.  

9 hours ago, PSegnatelli said:

I'm just getting into casting jigs. I went with Mustad 32786. I have that hook on alot of jigs and really like it.  Penetration is really nice. I've found that I can drop a bare hook onto my skin and it'll draw blood. 

:)any pics?

15 hours ago, PSegnatelli said:

Very big fan of the Mustard 32786, been using them for years and have no complaints, anything smaller then 3/0 I like to use the Owner 5313

Posted (edited) · Report post

9 mins ago, codfish said:

:eek:

Here's a stock photo. 

For my leg, just imagine a piece of pasty pink/white porkskin. Bulging subsurface varicose veins and shrouded in light brown brillo hair with a hook dangling off.  

images.jpeg

Edited by PSegnatelli
Lol forgot the photo

Posted (edited) · Report post

First I'd have to ask what kind of jig is the hook for.. I've got lots of favorite jig hooks depending on what that jig will be used for..

Back bay fluke jigs get a different hook than deep water fluke jigs.

Ocean front fluke casting jig..

Tog jigs...

Snap jigs...

A casting jig for bass that I'll be dressing w a fat cow or otter tail .. different hooks yet again..

And this list goes on and on...

Long shank, short shank, wide gap, narrow gap, sickle style, round bend, thin wire, thick wire... Etc... They all have their place.. the more you try different styles, the more you will find each has a specialized niche...

IMO various jigs for different techniques/targets require specific hooks.. I've played around with dozens of styles until I've found what works best for me given each specific application..