Mapo

saltx drag assembly

Rate this topic

27 posts in this topic

DOES ANYBODY KNOW HOW TO REMOVE THE DRAG WASHER ASSEMBLY FROM A SALTX 6000 REEL. THE RETAINER THAT HOLDS IT ON IS VERY DIFFICULT TO MOVE WITH TH PLASTIC TOOL SUPPLIED WITH THE REEL.

Posted (edited) · Report post

Did the tool catch all of the notches? Would a caliper tool work? Extending the caliper to catch two of the notches?

F960F5D3-81F5-4175-ACA2-8E1818D60420.jpeg

Edited by handi2

I WAS TOLD BY A BIMINI BAY OUTFITTERS SALES REP THAT THEY ARE WORKING ON A BETTER TOOL! HE EVEN SCOLDED ME FOR TRYING TO TAKE "MY" NEW REEL APART SAYING "WHY WOULD YOU WANT TO DISASSEMBLE A BRAND NEW DRAG SYSTEM APART" THAT IT WOULD VOID THE WARRANTY! I RESPONDED BY TELLING HIM THAT AT SOME POINT IT WOULD HAVE TO BE SERVICED. I ALSO TOLD HIM I HAVE BEEN SERVICING ALL OF MY REELS FOR ALMOST 40 YEARS.SO WHEN THE WARRANTY DOES EXPIRE YOU ARE ON YOUR OWN. BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE IF YOU ASK ME. BTW I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT A WATCH BACK TOOL WOULD WORK.I'M A PRETTY GOOD METAL WORKER AND MANAGED TO FASHION MY OWN TOOL WITH MY MILLING MACHINE AND A STRONG PIECE BAR STOCK THAT WORKS GREAT. ALSO DON'T HOLD YOUR BREATH WAITING FOR THEM TO SEND YOU A BETTER TOOL FOR YOUR NEARLY $400 REEL! GOOD LUCK

MIKE

Posted (edited) · Report post

l just serviced some SaltX 6000 and l couldn't remove that nut to get at the drag washers almost wrecked the plastic tool, but l found this that l use on my watches picked this up on Dbay years ago come with all types of tips will give it a shot later and l will let you know how it did.

20210213_092638.jpg.2c2f4f223fc9bfa07bcda81a6c25379d.jpg

20210213_092626.jpg.037edaa95cf737586324f69bc674f1ac.jpg

Edited by LB

It's a no go l couldn't get it to move, l couldn't find anything on Youtube, l don't know if it's left or right-hand tread.

Handi2 have you done any work on the drag system on the SaltX 6000?

HEY LB,