Rate this topic

RussB

I'm a once-a-weeker who lives an hour from the closest water (Cape May County; some of Atlantic County's saltwater is not too much farther though). I always try to fish water that my 13 and 11-year olds can reach and fish productively.

I'm new to stripers in New Jersey but grew up in Massachusetts fishing stripers. I've only tried 5-10 times or so, most of them (4 or 5 so far) coming this year in the fall run. I've scoped out a few spots that I suspect should be promising when the fishing is good. My lack of success (1 @22" a couple weeks ago) leads me to question some things:

1. How (timing, quality) does the South Jersey run usually compare to the Moco and OC Fall run?

2. How (quality) does the Fall run compare to the Spring run in South Jersey?

3. Are shore or kayak fishermen finding good success in South Jersey this Fall? And can you define "good success" if so?

4. Vague, rule-following tips on what conditions and where to target the fish are helpful if you're comfortable.

Any other information you'd like to share that's specific to fishing stripers in South Jersey would be appreciated.

I've been targeting night time this Fall. Seen some other anglers who also did not have tight lines. But these guys were choosing the same nights and tides as me so there may be shore=based anglers killing it in other parts of South Jersey.

Thanks in advance!

I live in South Jersey but I usually go further north for stripers. Beaches are pretty flat here which sort of adds to the challenge and this part of the state doesn't stick out as far so that might not help. Seems like most either have a go in the inlets or in the bays. I know there's a couple guys that fish down here who will have better info

57 mins ago, crazybellringer said:

easter bunny + Santa clause = south jersey fall run 

This is your best one liner since 2017!