Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Goldy

Help with Storing Fly Tying stuff

Rate this topic

20 posts in this topic

So I'm new to tying teasers / tails for saltwater only and i have made a complete mess of the stuff I acquired.

I put the bucktails in a ziplock and throw them on the bench, but boy i'm making a mess of this.  What's the best way to organize all this stuff, especially the Krystal Flash.

IMG_7906.JPG

And get a bunch of those cheap tupperware type containers in various sizes. 

Each item goes in a ziplock,

ziplocks of the same stuff, in different colors, go in the same plastic container

Plastic containers go in the drawers

1 hour ago, Sudsy said:

Or do like I did and score one for $20 at a garage sale 

20190330_174612.jpg

Sudsy. Youre nuts.  I dont have all that room in my garage. Im not right like you.  Project for the winter i guess

What did you do with the original packages? Put them back in them.Bucktails,personnally I have waaaaay to many and they will get a set in the hairs when stored in the original bags.Get a large container[like the slim ones for storage people use under a bed]  that will take all your tails and lay them flat in the container and add a bunch whole cloves to ward off the bugs.The same with other materials keep the sleeves and file them in smaller containers.Also,look at your package of UV pearl crystal flash.Now take you scissors and cut a bottom corner of the sleeve.Pick out some of the flash and leave the rest in the sleeve.When you are finished with that flash just open the package and pull the remaining out,line it all back, and reinsert all the flash back in the sleeve.Done.

3 hours ago, theshadow said: