dmac95

Which 19-21ft boat has highest gunwhales?

Rate this topic

54 posts in this topic

Hey guys, I have a 18ft hydra sport and while it’s a great boat when the weather and waves are calm, we avoid fishing anytime wind blows more than 15mph S in the li sound and more than 6mph N.

I’m thinking of upgrading to a slightly larger boat maybe a 20 or 21, but I noticed two things:

1. I observed a 21 ft hydra sport with small gunwhales similar to my 18ft.

2. I saw a 18 Robalo (looked new-ish) on the water and it looked to have very high gunwhales.

I’m no expert but I think high gunwhales make a significant difference in safety when some say 2ft-4ft waves form. I definitely won’t be fishing during anything over 1.5 ft low wavelength chop waves in the sound in the current 18 hydra sport, and I’d like to upgrade that maximum requirement to no more than 3ft chop with the boat upgrade.

now... do you guys know if there are any boats 19-21 with high gunwhales and keep in mind- I’d like it to be more affordable rather than more expensive or at least- I’d like my dollar to go for the safety and fishing experience as opposed to having 50 cup holders for my booze.

it seems Robalo doesn’t have much space in the back. I seen Grady whites on YouTube and they look to have the best of both worlds. Maybe the Boston whaler outrage but definitely not Boston whaler montauk.

any Parker’s, wahoos? Anything that I’m missing that you can kindly chip in with?

Might want to go check out the boat shows over the winter. The smaller DV hulls like Kencraft have high gunnels, but the DV's present their own challenges in terms of snap roll on the drift. There's probably a happy medium in there somewhere depending on how far you run to fish.