Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
PhilCVG

What do I need to get started?

Rate this topic

15 posts in this topic

I have been pondering the idea of surf fishing for two years now. I mainly fish the SJ back bay and areas with small plugs and plastics though I have fished some jetties for weakfish, even lucked into a few small stripers. This fall I'd like to atleast give surf fishing a shot. I have done it in the past but only with bait and that was 7 or 8 years ago now.

So I guess my question is what do I need to get started? I have corkers, waders, head lamp and even some common sense. I need help with plug/lure selection. I have no idea where to start putting a good surf bag together.

85% of my fishing will be done at night, the other 15% will be done late in the afternoon or early in the morning.

My rod and reel choice thus far is a St Croix SS80M ( I think ) coupled with a Mitchell Nautil, though I'm not sure what size would balance the rod.

I appreciate any info you could pass along to help me step above my current googan state smile.gif

The 6500 Nautil will compliment that rod nicely. I would go with something around 9', but that is just my opinion.

As far as lures go, ya can't go wrong with a schoolbus Bomber to start. smile.gif

I let the others chime in now... smile.gif

luke

Bombers for sure, school bus like Luke said! I also use alot of Gibbs bottle poppers, in various colors. Black seems to work the best for me at night and in the day yellow with some red also works really well for me.

Check out the SOL minnows and Megabait(i really like the Megabait lures)!!!

SF

------------------

Is it Hot in here, or is it just me?

SOL# 449

I say you should think this out for a long time before you start..

Your going to need everything Yep go to the online store and just have them send you one of everything..And good luck..

Eddie