Stopsign32v

Night fishing...You guys are for real?

Rate this topic

115 posts in this topic

So again, I'm new to fishing so forgive my disbelief. I've always called it quits basically when it gets too dark to safely throw a baseball. But you guys are talking about straight up night time fishing? Not only that but I've read that the Bomber "chicken scratch" is a great nighttime lure. Now I don't want to get into the color thing or anything but I just have one question...

How the hell does the fish see at all?

Not only that but how the hell do you guys see what you're doing? Also what time are you guys going "night time" fishing? Are we talking dusk or straight up 11pm fishing? 

There was a time I wouldn't even go until at least an hour after dark. Not after sunset, after dark. 

Your eyes acclimate to the dark... And the fish have sensors along their body that can pickup surrounding vibrations.... Surprising my best nighttime lure color is black... I have caught many monster fish at night with black colored lures...  

Posted (edited) · Report post

Dang you guys got me excited now. Its like a whole new discovery with opportunities for me! Last time we were at the beach I remember my son and I rushing to eat a late dinner because we had to get fishing before it got dark. 

Little did I know... 

Are the bugs and no-see-ums any better at dark? 

Edited by Stopsign32v

6 mins ago, ohbri13 said:

Surf fishing and fishing from the jetties black is also my go to color once it gets dark... seems counterintuitive I know :shrug: 

Awesome reel in your avatard....

Trying to get the proper snap ring arms to pop the sideplate bearing retainers. :)

25 mins ago, Stopsign32v said: