ACFishing

Casting egg for Albies

Rate this topic

29 posts in this topic

I was in Long Island and popped into White waters and saw something I don't see too often in shops around me, Casting eggs. I immediately picked one up as I've seen just how affective they are for Albie's and just could never find them around me. What pound leaders do ya'll use, length of leader? Flies ya'll use? How to work the casting egg? Im very new to this and am intrigued as to putting this setup for Albie's  

10-15 lb leader for Albies.  20-40 lb for striped bass.  18-36 inches long.  Presentations are left up to you - flies to bucktails to soft plastics to Dead eels.

I have been using a wooden casting egg attached to a 2 ounce Deadly Dick and different metals and have caught Blues and Stripers with it.. What I like is that my lures don't sink to the bottom after I cast them and if they are on the heavy side they will sink very slowly and while sinking I have caught monster fish...

21 mins ago, sytheteacher said:

I have been using a wooden casting egg attached to a 2 ounce Deadly Dick and different metals and have caught Blues and Stripers with it.. What I like is that my lures don't sink to the bottom after I cast them and if they are on the heavy side they will sink very slowly and while sinking I have caught monster fish...

Wow, Never heard of people using casting eggs with deadly dicks, That's a first for me

Albies tend to eat small baitfish, so a 2-3" feather/fly works well. The purpose of the heavy float is to get distance on a small, light lure that you wouldn't be able to cast far on its own. Lightest line you can get away with on the leader, I'd say, based on the size fish and water clarity. They pull hard.

17 mins ago, sytheteacher said:

AND because of this post I just ordered 250 wooden eggs that are 2 inches by 1 3/8 inches for about 30 bucks...

Any idea on what that size will weigh?

4 mins ago, PSegnatelli said:

Any idea on what that size will weigh?