dae2fish

A Van Staal VS150L substitute?

Rate this topic

31 posts in this topic

First things first... I wanted to say hello to everyone!!! This is my first time posting on SOL. It took me some time to figure out how to actually post content, LOL.

Anyway, I've been wanting for a long time to get a VS150L with the right hand retrieve. I finally saved enough money for it and was ready to pull the trigger. The Van Staal website shows the VS150L so I assumed they still made it. However, when I contacted one tackle shop to order one they said Van Staal doesn't make the VS line anymore and the VSX line doesn't have any L models. So I called Van Staal and the rep told me the same thing. Now I'm trying to find a suitable VS150L substitute (similar in size & weight but doesn't have to be fully submersible, as long as it could take some spray and wave splash). I'm going to fish this reel on a 9ft rod working the shorelines of Jones Beach, NY ). I would appreciate some feedback, thanks.

Take a look at the Penn Slammer III 4500 size.  I put one on my 9' rod.  Been using it for a little over a year.  No issues yet.  It hasn't taken any waves or splashes.  I make sure to lift it up if I think a crashing wave will soak it.  You're new here so you don't yet have the needed amount of posts but once you do keep an eye in the buy/sell/trade forum for a VS150L.  Never know what someone is selling.

Thanks for the input so far. :howdy: I didn't know ZeeBaas made a Lefty (right hand retrieve) model.  I couldn't find a Zx2-22 Lefty Silver at the big online tackleshops so I checked out the ZeeBaas website which lets you build one... what type of pickup... Single line or Double line? and what type of Handle... the small curved? and what type of knob?

Screenshot 2020-10-10 at 4.47.16 PM.png

Edited by dae2fish
I wanted to add a screenshot from the ZeeBaas website.