Salt3r

Help - VSX 150 Casting Issue

Rate this topic

21 posts in this topic

I’m new to bail-less reels and overall I like the VS I got this season.

I did find that if I don’t position the handle just right, my braided line catches on something when casting. It doesn’t catch hard enough to snap a plug off (yet) but it isn’t a good feeling.

Any idea what it could be?

28 mins ago, Salt3r said:

I did find that if I don’t position the handle just right, my braided line catches on something when casting. It doesn’t catch hard enough to snap a plug off (yet) but it isn’t a good feeling.

Not specific to your brand or model but 99% of the problems with spinning reels I have seen over the years were due to improper reel timing

Posted (edited) · Report post

38 mins ago, Salt3r said:

Is this on every cast that you "don't position the handle just right?  

Edited by cartopper

Do you mean reel timing as in casting mechanics?

I don’t know if it happens every time I don’t position the handle but I would say most. I think it catches the line roller.

4 mins ago, Salt3r said:

Do you mean reel timing as in casting mechanics?

I don’t know if it happens every time I don’t position the handle but I would say most. I think it catches the line roller.

I mean handle position in conjunction with spool extension before cast

Probably getting caught on the counter weight. Place reel handle in downward position so that the entire spool is exposed. Next, place the middle of the counter weight directly under the line.

6 mins ago, Salt3r said:

Here is a picture of the handle position for when the spool is fully extended:

0AF4F914-22F1-4FB9-89EC-7CE070B35348.jpeg