Sandy Hook Advice

Rate this topic

AndrewA

Hi Everybody,

I'm planning on heading out to Sandy Hook this coming weekend to try to catch, well, fish. Whatever fish I can. I just moved to NJ from the Rockies and I haven't done much salt-water fly fishing and none in the mid-Atlantic region, so I'm a total beginner at this. Any advice on what to do once I get out there would be much appreciated, especially what to look for and what to throw at the fish this time of year, and also any recommendations on shops in the area carrying flies and fly gear. I have a few clousers and some shoddy home-tied bunker patterns but if I want to use anything else I'll have to pick them up between now and the weekend. Have a 9 wt with intermediate line.

There are good shops up north. Tight Lines is very good. 

There are some clubs in the area. That is a good way to meet some guys and get acquainted with the local scene. 

Sandy Hook is a great place and there are two sides so there is much to explore. 

Check the buy sell forum, sure there must be some flies on there. Right here on this site.

I'll tell you this, no eternal reward will forgive us now for wasting the dawn.

Jim Morrison 

Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun.
Now there's a look in your eyes, like black holes in the sky.

As you probably already know, Sandy Hook is part of a long barrier island that juts into Raritan Bay, giving you the opportunity to fish the front (the ocean side) or the back (the bay side).  This is really your first choice - I prefer the front this time of year, but it's largely wind-dependent.  Sometimes the wind and surf is just too much for me to fish in enjoyably.  If you're not accustomed to saltwater fly fishing, it'll be that much worse for you.

Your second choice is choosing a tide.  People that know more than me prefer the outgoing at Sandy Hook, but in any case, you need to find moving water.