Stopsign32v

Would like some help on a +/- $200 casting rod

Rate this topic

11 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

I'm rather new to fishing and will mainly be doing some inshore fishing in south NC. I have a setup already, a Shimano stradic c4i+ 3000 series on a 6'6 St. Croix Avid X M/F. Let me say this setup has set the bar high! Holy cow is it light weight and smooth.

Anyways I want a baitcaster setup and got myself probably the last new 13 Fishing Concept C 8.1:1 ratio out on the market. I'm at the point now that I need a good setup to put it on. I will mainly be fishing topwater, Mirrolure 17MR, and some 1/8oz swimbaits. What rod do you guys suggest? I was suggested a ML setup with moderate action to keep from jerking the bait from the fish when they bite, but I honestly have no idea.

Edited by Stopsign32v

3 hours ago, Stopsign32v said:

For $130 what do you guys think about the 7' St Croix Triumph Inshore ML/Mod casting rod? It apparently isn't out yet but soon...

It's hard to have an opinion on an unreleased product, maybe Scoob can get his mitts on one early, shishimo fanboy that he is.  There are plenty of current Mojo Inshores to choose from.

No offense, but if you are new to fishing, You are not going to enjoy casting 1/8 oz in a breeze (which there always is) with a casting outfit. I would suggest you got a medium weight casting rod and looked for another way to cast the swimbaits. 

Southern inshore fishermen do prefer more moderate actions, but it is not mandatory. If you fish trout, then a softer rod is nice, but flounder and reds have solid mouths so it is less significant. A second reason for a moderate rod is casting shrimp, which can fly off if you get too aggressive. It doesn't sound like you are looking at that much. 

The only reason I see you preferring a moderate rod would be working topwater baits, so you should consider how much you will be doing that.