WoodyCT

Beach Permits - Online application??

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

Planned to go to Burlingame tomorrow for my pass, but the CRMC web site says applications are now done online and we need to schedule an inspection in Wakefield.

Can we no longer drive into Burlingame and get the pass on the spot?

Posted (edited) · Report post

I drove to Burlingame last week and got in a few minutes. The girl in the office was very friendly and helpful.You have to pay by check or money order. They won't accept cash or credit cards.Also her office closed at noon that day.

Edited by G.S.Mayka

This is the last weekend burlingame is open to get a pass Sunday will be till 8 pm

I think they will be there part of monday as well

20201010_174116.jpg

Edited by riggler

Why do they care so much about 4-low? I’ve been driving on beaches for 20 years and never once shifted into 4-low. It’s not rock crawling. Just air down sufficiently and drive.

14 hours ago, z-man said:

Why do they care so much about 4-low? I’ve been driving on beaches for 20 years and never once shifted into 4-low. It’s not rock crawling. Just air down sufficiently and drive.

It's not rock crawling but it's not street driving or desert racing either. Every beach and vehicle is different of course, but on the beaches I drive on nobody should be doing more than 15 mph or so, and the sand can be very soft and deep with big hills so there's no reason to be in high range. Low range will take the load off the transmission/clutch and build up less heat. We've always said low and slow. Low tires, low range and taking it easy will do a lot less damage to the beach and your drivetrain. Maybe give it a shot sometime. But this is only coming from 30+ years experience that learned from my father with 50+ years experience. :th:

Edited by Beachdrivin

50 mins ago, Beachdrivin said: