AClarke

Fishing the eel

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

Hey everyone, just joined a few weeks ago and have been trying to educate myself with past posts and what’s available in print and in the great wide web but I’m having trouble with my eels. Specifically keeping them alive long term and the rigging process. 

I am relatively new to serious surf fishing but have been fishing casually my whole life. 

With the last new moon in August I got myself a bunch of eels and had some really nice success, a bunch of keepers and a couple well over the 35 inch mark.  I had built the 3 bucket ice/eel/drainage system which worked phenomenally keeping them alive for well over a week while I fished them. However I wanted a setup in which I could keep the eels alive indefinitely without the need for ice. In my relatively cool basement I filled a bucket with tap water, added some basic aquarium water treatment to remove any chlorine in the Newport city water, added a bubbler and added freshly bought eels. 

Within 24 hours the eels had all died. 

Any advice on a better system? 

Also, now that I have a freezer of dead eels what’s your go to rigged eel. I’ve watched the John Skinners tutorial, I’ve just recently read Surfcasting Around the Block by Mr. Zambrotta (which has inspired a block trip of my own come the new moon) and I’ve done the general googling.

It looks like some guys remove the bones, some use the rigging needle, some store them in a brine solution and some are just tossed in the freezer as is. 

Sorry for the long post!