Agon2003

New to Fishing and want to know what lures I should get

Rate this topic

16 posts in this topic

Hi,

im relatively knew to fishing with lures. I’ve been fishing with bait since I was 5 but want to get into fishing for strippers with lures.

I am a high school student so I don’t have a ton of money I was just wondering a few lures I should get to start with.

I fish on the south shore of Massachusetts and would also like to know some spots if anyone fishes around here too

I think a savage sand eel or other paddle tail type lures are great for beginners. They’ll catch fish on a straight retrieve, but you can also experiment with them and get familiar with other retrieves

There are plenty of guys who’ll tell you that, when it comes to fishing lures, you have to buy a certain model of a certain brand in a certain color.

It’s mostly nonsense and I believe  that many lure  manufacturers put more effort into making their lures appeal to the fisherman who’ll buy them than they do making them appeal to the fish who are supposed to eat them.

I’m not going to give you suggestions on brands or models of lures.

Instead I’m going to suggest that you get a small assortment of lures which will allow you to fish the  entire water column of the area you are fishing.

Lets start at the surface of the water: get some kind of popping plug for that.

I don’t believe color matters with popping plugs because fish see the splashing and the disturbed water it creates more than the plug itself.

Next you want a lure that’ll run a few feet under the surface .