PSegnatelli

Pushbutton reel advice

9 posts in this topic

My daughter will be turning 12. Loves fishing.  Loves pushbutton reels.   She has a cheap combo I got her @ 5. But the drag is shot.  I'd like to get her a new reel.  But something halfway decent. And need suggestions. 

Mainly trout, panfish bass & bullhead. 

Combo would be ok too. 

Thanks 

P

Zebco 33 classic.   Due to their design, none of them have a "good" drag.  

For $70ish bucks you can get the zebco omega, and for $40ish the zebco platinum.  I have no experience with them but they have more bearings and I am guessing some metal where others have plastic.   I'd probably go with one of these if she was really set on a clased face reel. 

Stay away from the 'micro' sizes in any brand.  Smaller isnt better here.

y son loved closed face reels as well, far past the young 'closed face reel stage", and I was going to get him a platinum.  I got him a penn battle instead.  lol

I'd try to sell her on a lady president.  Pink, if that matters, and a GREAT reel.  

She's on the spectrum and getting her to change is very hard.  If she fights something, she'll just walk away from it completely.   

I gotcha.  I went through a number of smaller closed faced reels (the micro 11, and some gold and black ones from different brands) and none of them ever worked well enough for us (me and 2 little boys who were fishaholics) to keep in the line up.