Sstoryjr

Cleaning a reel that has been dunked in Saltwater

Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

Hi all I’m new to saltwater fishing and accidentally dunked my reel in the salt. I had it serviced the next day but would like to learn how to do it myself. I watched @scoobydoo video on how to breakdown a reel but was curious on how you actually clean the interior parts, gears, bearing etc of the saltwater that got in to prevent corrosion (mineral spirits, freshwater, corrosion x spray). What portions of the reel gets oil as apposed to grease? Also was wondering what the best grease to use is for both saltwater and freshwater use? Thanks all for the help I appreciate it:).

Edited by Sstoryjr

12 mins ago, avet4life said:

clean everything,

- grease and gear

- super light grease in bearing or just oil .

====

super lube should do just fine.

Thanks:) what do I clean everything with to get salt water off

18 hours ago, Sstoryjr said:

Hi all I’m new to saltwater fishing and accidentally dunked my reel in the salt. I had it serviced the next day but would like to learn how to do it myself. I watched @scoobydoo video on how to breakdown a reel but was curious on how you actually clean the interior parts, gears, bearing etc of the saltwater that got in to prevent corrosion (mineral spirits, freshwater, corrosion x spray). What portions of the reel gets oil as apposed to grease? Also was wondering what the best grease to use is for both saltwater and freshwater use? Thanks all for the help I appreciate it:).

Hey man!

I think the simplest way to go about cleaning reels is with a toothbrush and dawn dish soap...and an immidiate and thorough freshwater rinse. 

(i'll use 100 isopropyl to speed drying and displace any water still in bearings..beware on some painted surfaces as it may act like paint thinner)

Bearings are a pain....any way you slice it...