NewAtIt

Snakeheads in Upper Delaware

32 posts in this topic

Wow. didnt think they would make it up so far. But I would think they would never survive in the west branch as the water is a steady 50* or less. They cant survive in cold water from what I understand. But not positive on that thou.  :headscratch:

18 mins ago, vce12342000 said:

Wow. didnt think they would make it up so far. But I would think they would never survive in the west branch as the water is a steady 50* or less. They cant survive in cold water from what I understand. But not positive on that thou.  :headscratch:

I’m no expert on snakeheads. I did a quick google search on them and discovered that they are very tolerant of cold water. Some species may prefer warmer climates but the “Northern Snakehead” unfortunately does just fine in ice covered rivers and lakes. They are found in Russia and North Korea and those countries get pretty darn cold so they will have no problem at all surviving in the upper Delaware River. The department of fish and game needs to start electroshocking that stretch of river before it gets really out of control. This is some really bad news but for the year 2020 I guess this is just “par for the course.” :beers:

13 mins ago, Flip n Dip said:

I’m no expert on snakeheads. I did a quick google search on them and discovered that they are very tolerant of cold water. Some species may prefer warmer climates but the “Northern Snakehead” unfortunately does just fine in ice covered rivers and lakes. They are found in Russia and North Korea and those countries get pretty darn cold so they will have no problem at all surviving in the upper Delaware River. The department of fish and game needs to start electroshocking that stretch of river before it gets really out of control. This is some really bad news but for the year 2020 I guess this is just “par for the course.” :beers:

well I guess the native fish better welcome some new guests soon :laugh::laugh: