bob_G

Tomatoes

Rate this topic

41 posts in this topic

How are yours doing?  Last year I was up to my armpits in tomatoes of all sizes by 8/7.  This year, I'm easily 2 weeks behind.  Beautiful plants, covered in green fruit, but aside from a few cherries, nothing ripening.

Posted (edited) · Report post

First year growing tomatoes or pretty much anything......complete novice.  My plants sound the same as yours.  Maybe 5-6 ripe cherry tomatoes total.

My plants are full of green fruits and blossoms still.  I caged them in 42 in cages and they grew to about 8 feet tall last week, then they laid over and are now covering my entire raised planter.  Should I try to stake them? 

I planted too much for the space i have, btw.  live and learn

Edited by jkrock

11 mins ago, jkrock said:

I caged them in 42 in cages and they grew to about 8 feet tall last week, then they laid over and are now covering my entire raised planter.  Should I try to stake them? 

I have always used stakes instead of cages, tying them every couple weeks using strips of old T-shirts.. The stakes were about 6 feet. That was always plenty for all types of tomatoes except the cherries.

Since when I sunk the stakes I would stabilize them all by using a jute twine grid at the top of the stakes (picture a huge horizontal twine trellis), when the cherries out grew the stakes, I would just drape them over the twine grid. Will see if I can find a picture....

Opinions vary.  Some guys say let them lay over, because you run the risk of damaging the fruit and plant if you try to stake at this point.

I would attempt it, and I have just the other day.  The only problem being, finding an 8' stake.  My wife bought some at Lowe's a few years ago. Made of plastic, but not cheap. But I have a plant not that's easily 9' tall.

5 mins ago, Steve in Mass said: