codfish

Bad news from Cape Cod

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

One of my favorite things to do is work on my traps at the house and drink my Hog Island beer, went to 3 stores all out of stock, Browns Market said "There is no cans to put the beer in" are they pulling my chain??

DSCF0268.JPG

Edited by codfish

12 hours ago, FEW3 said:

People havent been returning cans because of the virus so there is a shortage of cans to fill.

That's not good

I work in the food packaging industry. Believe it or not there is a shortage of beer cans. One reason due to quarantine requirements more people are staying home still drinking but they are buying cases. Can you imagine how much less draft and long neck cases the beer distributors are selling? All the straight up bars are closed. Bar/Restaurants are open but a lot less people are going. It's a change in demand that the distribution system can not handle. Just like Toilet paper shortage, when a 3 month demand is purchased all in one month it takes time for the system to catch up.

An increase of 25 cents per can or bottle will be passed onto consumer. :manpig:

Apparently recycled cans are still hard to come by. 

D10EF38F-3D7D-4DFB-89B1-7E1994A368FD.png

It is amazing how this stuff works, A couple months ago, beer and soda was a bit short because there was a shortage of CO2, which came about because of decreased gasoline usage and production - the ethanol plants had cut back on making ethanol for the gas, and CO2 is a by-product of ethanol production. And so........