MooseJuice

Stradic vs Saragosa?

Rate this topic

41 posts in this topic

Hey all,

I'm new to the spinning gear game, as I have been a freshwater fly fisherman for most of my life. I am shopping for some new spinning gear for use on the boat and kayak in the Cape Cod area. I will be fishing for Stripers, Bluefish, Albies, Bonito, Mahi and black sea bass. I have been looking at both the Shimano Stradic and Saragosa reels but don't understand the difference. Can someone please explain the difference and the pros and cons to each?

Also, I have been told that the Shimano rods are a great value and have looked at the Teramar, Tallus and Terez. What do you guys recommend for my application? I was thinking about getting a light rod for small epoxies, a medium rod as a workhorse and a heavier rod for chucking the big stuff or live-lining some pogies. Thoughts?

Thanks!

John

You will need different rods and reels for what you want to do. Fishing for schoolies go with a medium rod (what ever you want), stradic 4000 will handle that and other light stuff for albies and bonito, Then get a Saragossa  5000 or 6000 with a rod rated Heavy to deal with live pogies and heavier plugs. The Saragossa is a beefier reel that can take punishment and used for bigger fish. One size doesn't fit everything unfortunately.

Friends don’t let friends buy Penns. Ha ha. 

Just a note on the Stradic, the 5k size is the same EXACT size as the 4K version except with a deeper spool and egg shaped rod handle knob. 

The Gossa has bigger sizes and will fair better in bigger rods. Both will handle big fish and the species you are after.