ace4570

Surf Bag

Rate this topic

34 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

The Shimano Bluewave and Supreme surf. The Shimano is better quality but the Supremes are decent for the price. I like my 3 tube supreme surf bag a lot, it holds just what I need and I like the pocket and pouch configuration. They are both offered in different sizes depending on how big/small you want to go. Good luck

Edited by RobG922

+1 on Shimano bluewave.  I've been using mine for maybe 10 years.  It's starting to fall apart a bit now.  It's a pretty good for the price.

Gear-Up is awesome if you can shell out around $150-$200 depending on what size. My 3 tube fits everything I need for the kind of fishing I do. I highly recommend it.

Moderately priced is a subjective term but I'll second the gear up recommendation. If you plan to really put some time in you'll need a good quality, preferably sailcloth bag and gear up fits the bill. As someone who owned both the Shimano and multiple Aquaskinz products I can tell you those bags just will not last long term. Heck my Blue Wave completely fell apart after less than one season in the surf. Buy once cry once is my recommendation.

It depends.

(Dontcha just *hate* when folks answer with that?)

Depends on how frequently and in which conditions you plan to use it.

Will you be swimming out to rocks, banging around in boulder fields and scrambling on and around jetties; or fishing from beaches?

Once a week for three months or 5+ tides/week for four or more months?

For "light" use, the Shimano Blue Wave will serve you for two or three seasons, maybe more.  Put that bag in tough conditions and I'd guess that two or three dozen tides would be a reasonable life expectancy.