jjdbike

Smoking my 1st Butt on BGE, any suggestions?

Rate this topic

19 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

Midnight Pass (a.k.a. Butch) is my inspiration for attempting this. I'm attempting my 1st smoked pork butt to pull for 4 people for dinner on Thursday. 

Up to this point I've had trouble keeping the heat down and maintaining a low & slow temp on my egg. To be honest, I was penny wise & dollar foolish w/ my egg. I spent $500 on a generic egg imitation. Now, 5 or 7 years in (I forgot exactly when I bought it), it's starting to fall a part. The upside is the ceramic egg is fully intact and in good shape so I'm replacing the parts w/ real egg parts. My 1st move was to make sure it's sealed. I replaced the felt gaskets. I also replaced the top vent w/ an egg brand rEgulator. It fit lovely and fell off when opened. I put felt gasket around it and pushed it down. It sealed well. 

I have a Flame master 500 on order. I hope I get it in time. If not I'll use my Maverick digital thermometer. 

Here's a question, what is the advantage to using chimneys to start the charcoal other than speeding up the process of lighting it? Might using chimneys hep me keep the heat under control? Also, for longer cooks, do you guys own two chimneys of do the first, then add the second?

I was displeased to find out that my local butcher shop only sells boneless butts. I got the largest they had at just short of 4 1/2 lbs. I also bought some "Honey Hog BBQ" from meat church. I coat it and let it sit for 24 hours. Then top it again just before I place it on the egg. 

I'm thinking I'll try to maintain 225 until it reached 190 internally. I'm guessing at 1 1/2 hours per pound it'll roughly take 7ish hours. Then I'll pull it, wrap in aluminum foil. Open up the vents, add wood and crank up heat. Then put the butt back on to add some more smokey bark. Then rewrap it in foil and rest it for an hour or so before I pull it.