Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
foxfai

A cold snap that shut down the bites?

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

I've heard of this phrase many times but never understood why?

Can someone explain to me after a storm rolls through and a cold fronts rolls in(here in the northeast), all the bites gets shut down and fish doesn't eat anymore? 

I’m still learning myself but more so than the immediate cold air temperatures which hardly has an effect on the water temps this time of year, you’re dealing with barometric pressure that’ll put the fish out of whack. I have most of my luck before the storm hits and then the bite is off after the storm. Besides the more obvious factors, I personally have been keeping track of everything this year just so I can eventually start finding the little nuances.

Posted (edited) · Report post

In my opinion based on past experiences cold snaps usually occur later in the season and typically meant a major wind change affecting inshore water temperatures which shut down the bite after a redistribution or movement of bait. Depending on how late in the season it occurred the shutdown was usually temporary after the immediate influx of colder water had a chance to dissipate after a few tidal exchanges. Any major change during a major bite is unwelcome but did a good job of reducing efforts by the masses of casters. Current charts indicate the most likely times warmer water may work to your advantage afterwards. 

Edited by SC

I always attributed this to spring fishing, when the water is cold.  Cold fronts in the fall and late summer i think can help kick up a bite, bringing in cooler water when the inshore temps are high.  But always learn something new