jw

raising your kayak seat ?

6 posts in this topic

Seems like the latest up grade to kayaks is to raise your seat , much more comfortable  and dryer .

Any one here trying it ?

I was looking at ascend seats , they seem nice a bit of customizing is needed .

My main concern is raising my center of gravity  . 

Any thoughts ? or recommendations 

I have a Emotion fisherman 14 ft

I tried placing a 5/8” pad under the seat of a narrow kayak that had a very low seat. It was very noticeable, and I promptly removed it while on the water. Would definitely have been drier, but I felt Too tall in the saddle. Last year when I tried a newer Outback for 5 days with the raised seat it was not noticeable, but it’s a much wider yak. You could try the same thing with different sized shims/pads and see if it will work before you spend on a taller seat.

Posted (edited) · Report post

I have been using the lawn chairs in the high position for close to 10 years and I thought I might be able to contribute to this thread. 

Riding tall is probably not for everyone, but it's absolutely right for me and I have enjoyed fishing more from the higher vantage. I am typically fishing rivers and creeks and the higher perspective lowers horizon lines and helps scouting without getting out of the boat. I am able to see more fish and I spook less when site fishing.  I get more distance and greater accuracy when casting and like fighting fish from the higher CoG.   Well, most fish.

The transition to standing is so much smoother and the lawn chairs all day comfort is becoming more important as I age. I have also fished lakes and salt in the elevated position with success. 

There are a few challenges.

I had to change from using a 230cm paddle shaft to a  260. Its a lot of paddle but its what works for me.  Without the extra length my catch phase was too close and any sort of strong brace could send me swimming.