Fishinbehr

Back Bay Fluke Setup

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

I’m just getting into fluking and I’m looking for a decent used setup locally. I mostly fish 1/2-1 oz bucktails off a kayak back bay usually in less than 25’. mmt.gif?s=8ba6deee-69c0-0fe6-e054-03b151922a43&a=s.r&u=792bc59e-ed6a-4e21-be35-3aa2bd8c622bmmt.gif?s=8ba6deee-69c0-0fe6-e054-03b151922a43&a=s.r&u=bc8e0a97-0c95-4ffb-a906-cb9841fb2406I’ve found a Saltist 2500 for $120 and a Lamiglass Black Salt BS725S for $125. What do you guys think about this setup? Is the reel too light for the rod?

Edited by Fishinbehr

I like light outfits for flounder. More enjoyable that way . I fish with 6 ft. rods, mostly no name brands with a penn 4500 and do fine. Have caught flounder to 6 lbs. no problem.

I kayak fished for fluke for 5 years with old freshwater bass gear and a cheap bait caster set up. Rinsed with fresh water after each trip. The cheap bait caster is grindy now but the rest are fine. 

These days I don’t buy gear unless I know how it will improve my performance. 

There are YouTube vids by one of the kayak members here (a chef who fished from an inflatable Hobie) which show how jigging style impacts lure action (filmed in a pool). I think he has some solid suggestions as to rod types. 

2 hours ago, patfont said:

I use a Lamiglas Black B7320S 7’3”

and a BG3000.

Weighs about one 1lb.

Perfect set up about $200.

It looks like the B7320S is 

Medium Heavy Power

12-20 lb. test line

3/8 - 1 oz lure weight

Fast Action

$125

While the BS725S is 

Medium Heavy

10-20lb
7'2" length
3/8-1oz 
Fast Action

Originally $295

On paper they look very similar, aside from the price. With everything going on right now it’s hard to get my hands on it hand these rods. Do you know what the differences are?

On 7/10/2020 at 0:20 AM, Fishinbehr said: