Surfcast23

Advice on a new setup

28 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I am pretty new to fresh water bass and would like advice on a good setup.  I'll be kayak and canoe fishing in a lake with a lot of lily pads. I'd like a bait casing rig that will be decent at most methods. Looking to spend around $300. 

For fishing around lily pads u probably want a 7-7.5' med/heavy or heavy action rod. The heavy action is well suited for the pads but not for all purpose use. The med/heavy MIGHT get u through pads but will be better suited for all around use. The problem is some m/h are softer action  than others and will not be good for the pads. It's never simple. 50-65# braid is good for fishing pads but to heavy for most other applications. Again not simple

What is the lake you are planning on fishing like? 5 acres? 20 acres? 100?  It’s nice to have a frog rod and all, but you won’t have much fun if the fish are all 11- 14 inches. 

Will you be fishing year round? Water clarity and weed cover in the winter are very different than summer conditions. 

The main lake that I will be fishing has an area of 800 acres. I would like a rod that is more of an all around rod with frogging being just one technique with the understanding that no rod will do it all well.  As far as season all but winter it gets pretty cold here is Mass.

My next question would be, “what bass techniques are most interesting to you?”  You are more likely to be successful if you are doing something that feels right to you. 

I will never own a spinnerbait rod. I just don’t see the point. I do poorly with spinnerbaits because I just don’t think they are believable. My personality works better with topwater and minnow-style lures, so my rods are chosen to cast and work those kinds of lures. 

What kind of lures “feel” like they would work as you look at the water?