Ftyer

Fly Line Question

Rate this topic

19 posts in this topic

So I somewhat recently began fishing a 9wt sinking fly line from Cortland. It’s got a 30 foot sinking head that I believe is 350 grains (might be off there and it’s 375) and a braided, what seems almost like Dacron, but I expect that it isn’t, running line. I’ve found that running line to be more durable than any other and I really love the stuff. I believe it’s similar to Scientific Anglers’ shooting line that they sell and comes in a 150 foot spool. 

So here’s my issue, my head is beginning to crack but the running line is fine. Would it work for me to get a 30 foot shooting head that’s 350-375 grain weight, cut my head off, and replace it with this? I have zero experience creating fly lines but this seems logical enough to me—nail knot it together, coat with UV resin so it’s smooth, and just fish it. 

Thank you all for any help here. 

Hopefully you can see this my camera is awful. In this case the running line is braided mono. I inserted the head into the braid and nail knotted it near the end, no adhesive. It has held up to 40" juvie tarpon, which is about as much as I would expect to get on my 8 weight. Put a micro swivel in there for line twist too. It works pretty well. I think you want to make sure the adhesive you use is at least somewhat flexible.

line.jpg.90d1211257ef6cbcab2addc8e00db0e2.jpg

May just be a terms thing...

If I understand you correct you have:

Your reel spool

Backing (which is most likely dracon)

Then a running line - probably a thin level intermediate...but could be a lot of things

Finally a 30' head.

If so this is fine.

The running line can be reused, the best way to set up the system is to splice a loop in the running line large enough to pass a spool (with the head on it) through the loop so you can loop to loop change the heads in the field - sinking intermediate a floater - based on what you want to do.