BoBaby

New to Kayak Fishing

7 posts in this topic

Hi All,

I'm new to kayak fishing, and really fishing in general. I haven't yet taken the kayak out because of the pandemic. My friend who I bought it from was going to show me the ropes but we haven't been able to get out together. I ended up researching what to buy on my own, I'll list out what I have, I'm 6'2.

I want to get out on either fresh water or salt water, doesn't matter to me b/c I live in eastern Massachusetts. I'm just unsure of a few things:

What rod should I use for fresh water (pond/river)?

- I have a 7ft med/heavy spinning ugly stick. I feel like it will be too big for fishing in a pond or river.

- If the ugly stick is too big I would want a cheap smaller rod

What resources are there for learning how to setup your lines and hooks and bait?

- One reason I haven't gone out yet is because I don't know how to setup a rod. I could easily go for a paddle, but I really want to fish.

- Are there basic plastics or bait I could use just to get started in fresh water? My goal is to take it out on the Dedham loop of the Charles River.

Gear:

Boat - Vibe 120 Yellowfin

Paddle - Field and Stream 230 cm

PFD - NRS Chinook

YakAttack paddle holder - for the front of my boat

YakAttack Omega rod holder

fish grip

fishing pliers

fish holder with scale

I bought a kayak cart too, I have a bad back.

Thanks,

Brian

I’d say definitely get started in freshwater. Even if you have kayaked lots before, sometimes fishing from a yak can be a new experience. It was for me. 

In terms of baits for bass, stuff like spinnerbaits and swimbaits are great because of their simplicity. Just cast, wait a few seconds and slowly reel them in. You can also learn how to Texas rig, it’s one of my favorite methods. 

Posted (edited) · Report post