46 posts in this topic

Hey everyone, I'm new to fishing big water from a kayak, and I'm thinking about trying lower Raritan Bay (Union Beach/Keansburg area) in the next week or so. I would love to go out with some of you more experienced big water kayakers so I could see where and how you're fishing. Based on a post that I saw from MDLR fishing, it looks like you can fish in 15-20 feet of water and be productive, which doesn't seem too far out and safe.

I'd love to find someone going out and tag along. Please let me know. 

Welcome my friend. I haven’t been able to go out lately but I will send you a message next time I get out. If you are targeting things like strippers and bluefish I’d recommend trolling. It’s a great way to find out where fish are especially if you are new to the area. I’ve done really well trolling sp minnows and I know a lot of guys like to troll the tube and worm. Just be safe when you do go out. A good weather app is your friend 

Thanks Big Red, I appreciate it. I'm getting myself set to troll some tubes n worms, and I'll get some sp minnows as well as crankbaits; I have my kayak pretty set (I've been fishing Spruce Run Reservoir and doing well with the hybrids, which has been a blast), so I'm getting ready to head out on the maiden voyage in the salt. My Old Town 120 PDL is now a month new and has experience on Lake Hopatcong and Spruce Run, and I didn't think that I'd be back in the salt, then I found some videos of kayak fishing the spring run and this forum. Hahaha here we go again...anyways, that's for another day...