Overmodulated

Layering Etex for durability - how many coats?

Rate this topic

19 posts in this topic

Posted (edited) · Report post

Did a quick search but could not find a dedicated thread on this:

Do you find that more layers (> 2) of epoxy helps prevent chipping and hook rash?  What do you believe to be the optimum number of coats before it works against you?

Many thanks!

Edited by Overmodulated

I believe that every coat is only another way to mess up your plug, epoxy is very tricky thing to work with sometimes.  I limit my epoxy coats to 2 layers at most but I prefer none at all (other types of clear coat) as lures such as a metal lip can have a different action with the added weight of more coats.  If your like me and dislike epoxy you should try automotive clear coat but be warned it is very toxic, I myself do not use it as I am a young plug builder but I believe I will use it later on.  And lastly if you do spray automotive clear coat, Safety First!

I do not think that adding more layers or epoxy prevents hook rash or chipping.  The reason that epoxy chips or flakes is because it is not chemically bonded to your paint or your paint isn’t chemically bonded to your sealer/wood,  that is why a clear coat such as automotive is very nice because it is a very thin layer that will chemically bond to your paint and primer creating a lure that once it begins to have hook rash the paint and clear coat will not chip or flake.

Thanks @t_man7

Every time my lures chip from banging them up the damaged spot is always white, exposing the primer.  That is the only layer that's adhering well.  The acrylic outer paint comes off with the epoxy layers.  Wish I could improve the primer-to-paint bond.

I use testors aztek paint.

6 hours ago, Overmodulated said:

Thanks @t_man7