ReelLazy77

Chesapeake Bay Striper Trolling Help

Rate this topic

18 posts in this topic

Hi I'm I'm looking for some advice on trolling. I'm new to trolling, went out on my buddy's boat on Tuesday on the bay and got skunked. He is mostly new to trolling as well. We set out 3 rods, 2 with umbrella rigs and one with a parachute rig. No bites. We were getting plenty of hits on his fish finder at varying depths, mostly between 20-30ft. I'm wondering if we are getting the rigs down deep enough. Here is the set up we were using: 3 levelwind reels spooled w/ 65lb braid on 6'6" boat rods, 1 larger (probably 14‐16in across) umbrella with a 12in shad trailer (probably 6oz?) and a 4oz inline sinker placed about 18" in front. 1 smaller (12in?) umbrella with a 6in shad trailer (4oz) and no added weight. 1 parachute rig, 6oz and 4oz i believe w/ no added weight. We varied our trolling speed between 3-4 mph. Not sure how much line we were letting out but my guess would be around 100yds for each rod. How much do we need to let out, or how much weight to add, to get down around 20-25ft? I will say that the weather was weird the day we went out, super foggy and no wind until around noon, maybe that had something to do with the lack of bites. But im more inclined to believe we we're doing something wrong. We left out of Edgewater and fished the main channel areas outside Kent Island. Read some things about the water being funky right now from algae, it did look a little reddish in some areas. Anyways, any and all help appreciated! We are newbies just looking to get some fish for the grill! We're headed back out on Monday.

I suspect you're going to need a wire line outfit or two. Failing that, slow down.  If you were doing 3/4 mph INTO the current, your rigs were probably just under the surface. Going with the current, I'm guessing you were down no more than 15 ft.

Even with wire, 100 yards is a lot, but with anything other than wire, you're just not getting down.