prican1

Hunters Education Course

Rate this topic

13 posts in this topic

For those of you in NY State who wan't to get into hunting the Hunters Ed Course is availble online for $20. It sure hell beats going to a class for 3 days for a few hours at a time! Don't know if other states are doing the same. Although I did enjoy the classes gun safety is extremely important, be safe out there.

Carlos

I am a hunter ed instructor. For years I have been telling people in a rush to use the Montana Online coarse. They are all reciprocated in the US and Canada. 

That said, you learn more and do “hands on” in a traditional class setting. 

What year or when did they make mandatory that you have to take a hunter safety coarse? l have had a hunting license since the mid 50s, l don't remember taking a course.

1 hour ago, LB said:

What year or when did they make mandatory that you have to take a hunter safety coarse? l have had a hunting license since the mid 50s, l don't remember taking a course.

Depends on the state. More states are requiring archery hunter education now as well. 

10 mins ago, ged said:

Depends on the state. More states are requiring archery hunter education now as well. 

lt was NY

Dad never had a hunter ed course, he's been hunting since the early 60's (with a license).

NJ and NY.  So, sometime after early 60's.

Took mine as  a little kid in the 80s at Targeteers. 

My kids did it this year, its a hybrid online class with a workbook for HW, and then you go for a day of class and field training.  I was surprised, It was well done and worthwhile.   

2 hours ago, LB said:

(in reference to this post)

2 hours ago, LB said:

It differed from state to state--I don't think Texas requires one to this day; I know they didn't when I hunted down there a dozen or so years ago--but it got mine in '71 or '72 in Connecticut.  I don't knoiw about New York, but suspect mid-1960s.

11 hours ago, prican1 said: