Porkowski

Where to cast for stripers/blues? Beginner here

Rate this topic

11 posts in this topic

Hey,

Fished freshwater my whole life but i’m quite new to saltwater. I was looking to fish striped bass/bluefish around the Brooklyn,NY- Long Island area, and I was wondering what beaches are good to start learning at? Heard of Robert Moses and Jones Beach being decent, but where do people actually fish/ are these open with COVID and all? Not asking for secret spots just generally how to get to the water I can fish at (ex: which parking lot to park at).

Also, is it better generally to cast lures or bait with bunker during the next few weeks? Any suggestions for lures? 

Thanks, apologies if the post was long.

Try the rockaways. Plenty of ocean there. There might be parking by riis park too.

If not for the pandemic and all the closures that come with it, I'd recommend looking into getting a fishing parking permit from the Ryan visitor center at floyd Bennett, as the park rangers will give you a map with general fishing spots. 

As this question comes up quite a lot I will also redirect you to my post history as I remember answering this question in better detail for someone else earlier this year. 

And as far as lures vs bait, both will work. When it comes to fishing for bluefish and striped bass, it's more a game of fishing at the just the right time. If there's no fish in the area, nothing you throw in there will work. Good luck

The Ryan Visitors center is still closed for permits, but there are parts of Floyd Bennett Field where you can park without one during the day. I'm pretty sure Riis doesn't require a permit during the day.. same for Canarsie Pier.  But yes, there's plenty of literally miles of productive ocean/ JBay fishing in Brooklyn and Queens.. good luck!