flyntus

Weights

Rate this topic

22 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

What type of leads should I be using to hold bottom in the Columbia River?  Sputniks, Frog Tongue, Pyramid, Other?  I will be fishing from the bank with 8nBait.  In the past I've primarily used sputnik style sinkers on the TX Gulf Coast.  But, I am new to river fishing.  

Thanks all!

The Columbia and lower Yakima has some excellent smallmouth fishing. Good walleye fishing as well.

You aren’t that far from Potholes Res which has multiple species.

Tons of big carp around that will rip some drag.

There is also a pikeminnow bounty program on the Columbia. Some folks have made over $100K per year fishing that program.

SF

I'm most familiar with the river below Bonneville. I use cannonballs in the boat and from shore it depends, railroad spikes if they're on hand. If you paddle your gear out, a releasable sand bag or big rock rigged to break away. I don't know what works upstream, probably not too different.

On 5/17/2020 at 0:57 PM, flyntus said:

Hey guys,

What type of leads should I be using to hold bottom in the Columbia River?  Sputniks, Frog Tongue, Pyramid, Other?  I will be fishing from the bank with 8nBait.  In the past I've primarily used sputnik style sinkers on the TX Gulf Coast.  But, I am new to river fishing.  

Thanks all!