mattpurcell0117

Dying Bucktail - Please Help!

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

Gentlemen, 

I need your wit and experience to solve my problem.  I am a newb when it comes to dying Bucktail, but I've done a fair bit of research and have experimented many times only to fail over and over.  If anyone has a good way to dye Bucktail, I would love to know.  I have done the following to high quality white bucktails with no reasonable result...

Degreasing process:

soak 3 ducktails in synthrapol (1/4 cup) and Johnsons baby shampoo (1/4 cup) in 2.5 gallons of water for 1 day and agitate/swirl/massage by hand intermittently.  Every day I emptied the water and repeated 2 times for a total of 3 degreasing efforts

Dying:

I have tried both Jacquard and Veniard acid dyes to the following ~ heated a dye bath of distilled water to 160+ degrees F.  Prior to adding dye to the bath, I dissolved all the dye powder in a beaker with 200 mL of distilled water and then added the solution of dissolved dye to the dye bath of plain distilled water and allowed to equilibrate.  Then I let the water cool to 140 degrees F.  Then I add 2 cups of white vinegar to the bath and let mix for 15-20 min then add the tails that had been rinsed after degreasing as mentioned above.  

I have waited for these tails to dye for 12-18 hours in solution and these stupid things are still not getting dyed.  Does anyone have any saving grace/knowledge that could help a guy out?  I really have tried to do my due diligence and research as not to waste anyone's time in responding.  But, I am at my wits end and don't know what to do.

Posted (edited) · Report post

Use the search button in the heading above, dying deer tails, lots of info. Remember only the white hairs will take color.

Edited by XBMX

13 mins ago, XBMX said:

Use the search button in the heading above, dying deer tails, lots of info. Remember only the white hairs will take color.

well i just learned something new.