CLFish5

Don’t drop da fish - newbie question

Rate this topic

30 posts in this topic

Hey everyone.

I am new to fishing. I’ve been fishing for stripers maybe 25 times. I’ve recently discovered back bay fishing. The kind where you have to wade out a bit. I’ve been out a bunch of times recently and have had some good trips but I do notice something that I wanted to ask everyone about...

Setting the hook/dropping fish! I feel the bite, I jerk the rod up to set the hook and I miss a whole lot. I can have nights of 10+ but people around me are bringing in 20+. It’s frustrating but I want to be specific in trying to get help here... Last night I missed 10+

I have a 10’ rod. I am throwing mostly sp minnows and mag darter with just a belly vmc trebel 1/0 hook - back hook off. 

Is that the problem? Would it help if I got a 7.5-8’ back bay set up? Most people I see out are using 8’ lighter set ups. 

Do I just not have the feel yet because of the experience factor? Again I feel the hit I jerk up and the fish is gone. I know I have to keep line tight but I’m reeling slow, giving a little twitch and I feel the hit and I try to snap it up. Maybe reel a little first and then set? 

Any and all tips are appreciated. I am new so something obvious to you might not be obvious to me!

I just don’t want to droppa da fishhhhh!!!

Are the fish small like less than 20"? If so then you'll miss a lot on swimming lures with a belly treble. Nature of the beast they just don't have the size mouth to woof that minnow lure back consistently. Much better hook up rate on a small soft bait with a single hook or a bucktail.

That said if the fish are larger and short striking, you have to examine your retrieve speed, hook size, line and leader properties, hook sharpness. These are some things that contribute to a fish striking but not getting tight

32 mins ago, marty_mccarty said: