MorningWood

Replacing Hooks on Avas and other metals

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

So with all the free time self isolating provides, I went through about a dozen old tackle boxes some of which haven't been opened in years. One of them had a load of Ava A17s A27, some hammered metals etc. The tubes on most of them were dry rotted and several had old rusty hooks. The jigs themselves are in good condition but I need to replace the hooks on a bunch. I can't believe I've never done this before in 50 years of surf fishing and I am quite embarrassed to even ask, but how do you replace the hooks when it's jig, barrel swivel and hook. There's no way to get the barrel swivel off the jig. Do you cut the hook at the swivel and then open the gap on the replacement hook? What kind of hooks are typically used on these and are they pre-gapped? Can this even be done or do I just use the newer ones and trash the old ones? Feel free to call me a googan or an idiot I just cant figure this out. I searched for replacing hooks on Avas and nothing came up so either I'm an idiot and everyone already knows how to do this or people just follow out with the old and in with the new.

17 mins ago, hobobob said:

Ask dan the tin man for replacement hooks and tubes. If the swivel is shot, cut it off and put a split ring & new swivel on. 

That’s right.  I can provide part or all of what’s needed.  Put in a request in the Commercial B/S/T section under the Requests heading.