codyk35

vs100 or vs150 for 10ft blackhole suzuki

Rate this topic

19 posts in this topic

i have my eyes set on a van staal to pair with my 10ft blackhole suzuki. im leaning vs100 for the weight and slower retreive. i also plan on using mainly 20lb braid. is the vs100 too small or the vs150 a better fit for that rod? thanks in advance.

I have no experience with the 10’ Suzuki but if I were shopping for a reel to put on a 10 footer I’d go bigger than the 100-150 series for sure. I have a 250 on a 10’ Avid and a 150 on a 9’ ODM if that helps.

I'd meet in the middle and go with like a VR175, or VR125. Vs would be A bit heavy on that rod (I have the 9'6), and IMHO the drag on the 125 or 150 is laughable for such a heavy duty reel. The VR has much more drag, and less weight.

9 hours ago, codyk35 said:

i have my eyes set on a van staal to pair with my 10ft blackhole suzuki. im leaning vs100 for the weight and slower retreive. i also plan on using mainly 20lb braid. is the vs100 too small or the vs150 a better fit for that rod? thanks in advance.

I would recommend buying a VSX until they start to produce at least 50% of their advertised drag pressure. 

There have been several threads here in the last year with disapponted VSX customers. 

I use a Penn Battle II 4500 on my 10 ft. Its the right weight for that rod. I d go with the smaller VS. You are gonna love the rod.

8 hours ago, ASrod said:

I have no experience with the 10’ Suzuki but if I were shopping for a reel to put on a 10 footer I’d go bigger than the 100-150 series for sure. I have a 250 on a 10’ Avid and a 150 on a 9’ ODM if that helps.

Suzuki is not a normal rod. a 250 is way to big for it.

Sorry for my curt initial post - was busy last night.

Fishing the VR50 on the Suzuki 10 was my favorite combo. It worked much better than when I tried my VSX 150 on that rod. I would very much think an alternative may be a new gen Stradic 5000 or maybe the new Tsunami Salt x 4000 if it is good.