Rate this topic

9 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am 14 years old and currently have two surf rods that I share. I have a 9 foot Daiwa, (FTS902MFS) medium heavy. I also have a Hurricane MAKO, (1002SRF) medium heavy. The line recommendation on the hurricane rod is 17-40. Currently, I have 50 lb zebco line spooled on but I believe the line diameter is too thick thus not creating long casts. The weight rating is 2-6 oz also. I was wondering if this is good enough for the canal to start out with. I am new to the canal and live about an hour and a half away. I was wondering if I should minimize my line strength to 30 creating more line capacity on my spool and thinner diameter. What lures should I use on my two rods? Could somebody explain to me when the best time is for fishing? I heard something about a new moon tide and breaking tide but I don't know how to recognize it and don't fully understand it. Any help is appreciated. :)

Posted (edited) · Report post

Some good threads in the mass forum, weed through the nonsense.

50 lbs is the standard at the canal. Personally i use 40# braid but id say the average is 50. Youll want 200 yards of braid min, im not familiar with zeb specs but i presume thats fine. Fish can be caught on 30, but you want the saftey factor when your putting the works on a big fish in strong current. 

For a rod, you need to throw 5 ounce jigs and control it, meaning lift it off the bottom without the rod bending like a pretzel. That said a 2-6 should be good most of the time for most of your applications. 

Those are good times, but there are others. Try your luck, write down what works. The best way to learn is make a fishing logbook