JPSmith29

rod/reel for smallmouth

Rate this topic

10 posts in this topic

Hi all. I am still fairly new to fly fishing having started only a year and a half ago and been fly fishing at most 30 times. This has been mainly for trout In the swift river in Ma with a 9ft 5wt. There are a few rivers near me that hold smallmouth and I would really like to try catching them on the fly. Would my current fly rod be able to handle smallmouth ranging anywhere from 1lb up to the rare 3lber? Or should I invest in say a 7wt?
Any input is really appreciated
Thank you all in advance 

JP, what you have can be fine, but may limit how large or heavy you can go with the flies. That's the primary reason for choosing a specific line/rod weight. And, when I say heavy, that may include wind resistance, such as with poppers, or with weighted flies like Clouser Minnows. 

For what you describe of the stream & fish, a 5 weight will work. I've fished for them with 3 wts to 8 wts depending on the waters I've fished. On tiny streams, light rods & smaller size flies, than I might use on a larger stream or river. It's all a compromise to try to get the best fit for a given day, since conditions change.

If your rod has plenty of backbone, you might try a 6 or 7 wt line on it to see how it casts. Then you can use some larger or heavier flies without getting another rod. 

I added rods to my arsenal over the years as I found the need. I never could afford high end rods, but was always able to find a good rod for what I needed, either new or used. I now have rods from 3 wt to 10 wt and multiples of some weights. I primarily target warmwater & saltwater fish species, but have fished for trout too. 

It's a choice which way to go, but what I suggested about trying a different line might be the least costly. You can possibly use some of the flies you've used for trout too.