Siding

Rate this topic

dena

I have a wood sided house that needs new siding.

The currently installed wood siding is close to 60 years old, and starting to rot.

Painting it again is out of the question, too far gone.

So, do I want to get vinyl, aluminum, or what?

SqFt of the house is ~1500, and I need new windows too.

Anything I need to look out for?

Is one brand head and shoulders above the rest?

I am new to this siding and windows thing, and do not want to look like too much of an idiot talking to contractors.

The house belonged to my grandfather, and was passed to my parents, and now me. It has been rented until a couple of months ago, and before anyone else moves in, the house needs some work...who knows, maybe I will move there, it is a nice piece of land

Material abundance without character is the path of destruction.
-Thomas Jefferson
There are two ways to be fooled. One is to believe what isn't true; the other is to refuse to believe what is true.
-Soren Kierkegaard

All up for debate. If I was moving in and the house was going to be for me then I’d do top notch stuff. Windows for instance, if it was me I’d get the windows that have the applied casing on the outside so the new siding tucks in behind it. It gives it a nice clean look. Certainteed is good siding. 

Edited by gray gables

1 hour ago, Jim McFeeley said:

Your going to want to see what the sheathing looks like behind the siding first.  Some wood siding is just nailed on the studs without sheathing.

Yes, the house is 60 years old, and I am not sure how well insulated it is. I am almost certain it is not up to modern standards, foam siding, sealed, etc.

Should the old wood siding be removed, or the new sheathing just installed over top of the old siding, then the new siding installed?

The house is in cold climate Ohio, up near the lake, and sits on a nice 13 acre property.