NaturalScience

Hot sauce

Rate this topic

20 posts in this topic

I just attempted to turn the pepper mash into hot sauce but.....

The mash has an unpleasant diapery slimy smell.

The mash was fermenting since about September. 

There was no sign of mold.

The white slime formed repeatedly and I removed it as best I could, repeatedly. (Yeast, I believe)

A taste confirms a good spicy mash with a funky weird taste best described as above, diapery and slimy.

It doesn't taste "bad" per se but it isn't pleasant. 

Serrano peppers. 

This is my very first attempt at hot sauce so I really don't have anything to compare to aside from commercial sauces and it doesnt taste like those.

Any experience out there?

Did you check Ph?   Good ferment usually lasts just a couple weeks and gets Ph low enough to ward off the bad bugs.  I think last stuff got to about 3.7 but low 4’s should do it.  Also helps to have some onion or carrot for sugar to get it started.  Hot peppers alone can be more difficult.  

I did not do any of that. Just the peppers in a salt brine.

I kind of figured it would work the same as say kraut which I do somewhat regularly. 

Kraut of course is just a few days but after learning Tabasco ferments for years I thought the peppers would benefit from a long time.

Any books or websites to look into for this information? 

I have some food preservation books but none cover hot sauce and the web seems to have a lot of variety on the subject. From using a brine to just salt and blended peppers. A cheesecloth over the jar to a somewhat tight lid to create a co2 barrier.

I do remember one suggestion of a bit of vinegar or citrus in the mash to lower ph.

Posted (edited) · Report post

I saw this video years ago. No brine,just straight salt

Tabasco sauce is a excellent sauce imo

Edited by triumph

On 2/8/2020 at 4:44 PM, NaturalScience said:

I kind of figured it would work the same as say kraut which I do somewhat regularly.