Outer banks NC in summer

Rate this topic

Stripsettter

Have a friends and family trip planned in July to Nags Head area and figuring out what to bring. I would be fly fishing on foot ocean and sound and probably have some spinning gear to check out the piers. Anyone have any advice? 

I hear there’s Puppy Drum, Speckled trout, blues in summer. The big Redfish are in the fall. I’ve never been before so total newbie to the area. Appreciate any input. 

No Bait. No Barbs. No Buckets.

Bring a 7ft spinning rod with some 15 and 30lb fluro leader. Paddle tails on light jigheads and topwaters for sound side, jig heads in the surf. Pick up some white on white gotchas, 30lb fluro and with clean water those and small metal will get you into Spanish and blues on the piers. Popping cork with a chartuse DOA is a good day saver for backwaters as well. On the fly, id imagine backwaters would be easier, surf conditions can be tricky. 

Appreciate the tips. Primarily I want to fly fish.  Definitely bringing a light spinning outfit with some jigs and 8/9wt fly rod, clousers, deceivers, crab and shrimp patterns... I will likely focus on a few sound side areas where there appears to be access and grass flats. May drive south to Oregon inlet and will take at least one guided trip. I have an inflatable paddle board I’m bringing as well. 

anyone else experienced in the area ?

21 hours ago, BrianBM said:

Stripsettter, do you want this thread transferred either to the Fly Fishing or Hatteras/NC Forums?

Prefer to keep it in Fly Fishing because that’s ultimately how I want to fish. I see most of the OBX forum is bait fishing for Old Drum/Redfish. Can big redfish not be taken on plugs? 

17 hours ago, jeffapeikin said:

Not sure if flat fish are what you’re into, but I recall a YouTube where they nailed a few small ones. 

I catch a lot of Fluke in NY on the fly when targeting Striped Bass. Not a target species for me but I’m not going to complain if I catch them.