Yakman85

Lets see your herring flies!

Rate this topic

45 posts in this topic

Hey everyone, 

New to the forum. I joined this forum hoping to both share and learn info about fly fishing and tying. I fish the upper section of the hudson. I also trout fish in the catskills once the striper run is over. Since the stripers in the hudson follow river herring (alewives) I tend to use bigger bait fish patterns. Im looking for some ideas of flies to use the might fool these hudson river stripers. I fish a 8 weight so I try to tie as sparse as I can. I attached a photo of the flies I fished last season. I tied these my self. Im a self taught fly tyer. So Im always looking for some constructive criticism on my flies. If you see any issues with length, bulk or colors please let me know. I kinda favored the bondorew bucktail last season. I really have a feeling that pattern will catch my first striper on the fly. Anyway if you guys are willing to share I would love to see some examples of herring flies to use for this spring. Thanks

20200108_192453.jpg.40f571af2f6fac43905ddababa174663.jpg

Posted (edited) · Report post

Some from 2018 and 2019.  Plus a beast from Andrew Custom and a Slammer from Ian Devlin.  The last one was my hot fly of 2018.  It landed 7 fish over 30" and one 42" 26lber its been retired because it caught that personal best fly rod striper wade fishing.  I prefer to use a 11'2" 10wt TH OH rod or the 12wt model of same rod.  They can be cast on a 9wt but its a lot of work and distance can be frustrating if wind picks up.  Love the 12wt 90' cast on windy days are no problems with a 500grain 30' head

477DED99-49E6-4D5F-A168-DC36A39C5741.jpeg

6596F1F7-5A2D-404A-AEF9-56EC958E00F8.jpeg

96F09CB8-23EE-4992-80B5-08621874FC51.jpeg

0833D301-1CBA-4456-9008-23192EAF771A.jpeg

98A0BE94-1107-45FB-9BAD-DE186550B54D.jpeg

74B5EBC1-4146-4A6A-B4E2-1F9850CAF74F.jpeg

61554AAE-EA0D-43B0-AFC6-9A1C7A15867B.jpeg

95E01317-A3F8-4853-BAD7-BFACE77FF222.jpeg